“Better a diamond with a flaw than a pebble without.” – Confucius

The Only Watch auction 2017

UPDATE – CHF 10,776,500 raised at the Only Watch 2017 in a packed sale room, auctioned by Christie’s

The 7th edition of the Only Watch charity auction was held on 11 November in Geneva at the Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues, on the occasion of the watch auction week when Christie’s offered the 50 lots to bidders. The auctioneer was Rahul Kadakia, International Head of Jewellery at Christie’s, but at the 50th lot he got some support from H.S.H. Prince Albert II.

What is Only Watch?

The Only Watch is a biennial charity auction of unique timepieces created and donated by fine watchmakers for research into Duchenne muscular dystrophy. It is held under the high patronage of His Serene Highness The Sovereign Prince of Monaco Prince Albert II.

What is DMD?

Duchenne muscular dystrophy (DMD) is a genetic disorder characterized by progressive muscle degeneration and weakness. Symptom onset is in early childhood, usually between the ages of 3 and 5. The disease primarily affects boys. (DMD is a rare muscle disorder but it is one of the most frequent genetic conditions affecting approximately 1 in 3,500 male births worldwide.)

The Association Monégasque contre les Myopathies – created in April 2001 by Luc Pettavino – promotes the scientific research to find treatments.

The aim

The goal is to create one-of-a-kind, “collector’s” timepieces and support a good cause. All participating horological brands offer their watches; while partners offer their services, logistical or organisational support.

Since the first edition in 2005, the Only Watch has enabled the “Association Monégasque contre les Myopathies” to collect more than EUR 25 million and has contributed to significant advances in research over the last years. Before the auction, the collection has been travelling via an international tour (between 27 September – 11 November): to Monaco, Bangkok, Singapore, Dubai, Istanbul, Hong Kong, Taipei, New York, Los Angeles and Geneva.


Participating watch brands

Each watch brand donates a one-of-a-kind timepiece specifically made for the Only Watch or offers a special version of an iconic or flagship model from their collection. To make the lots even more exclusive, in many cases the watch houses offer an experience with an ambassador of the brand or invite the highest bidder of the lot to attend a special event. For example Tudor, Louis Vuitton, Zenith or Patek Philippe offer workshop visits; Hublot offers a PUMA T-shirt signed by Usain Bolt and organises a meet & greet with the fastest man in the world himself; Chanel invites the lucky bidder to Chanel’s Ready to Wear fashion show in March 2018, while Bovet invites the acquirer of the timepiece to the “Artists for Peace and Justice Gala” dinner.

The highest bid went for the lot 12. The Patek Philippe Reference 5208T-010 was created specially for Only Watch 2017 and sold for CHF 6,200 000.

Timepieces: Andersen Genève, Armin Strom, Arnold & Son, Audemars Piguet, Barbier Mueller, Bell & Ross, Blancpain, Boucheron, Bovet, Breguet, Carl F. Bucherer, Chanel, Chopard, Christophe Claret, Chronoswiss, Czapek, De Bethune, Dewitt, F.P. Journe, Fabergé, Frédérique Constant, Girard Perregaux, H.Moser & Cie, Harry Winston, Hautlence, Hermès, Hublot, Jacob & Co, Jaquet Droz, Konstantin Chaykin, Laurent Ferrier & Urwerk, Louis Moinet, Louis Vuitton, Maurice Lacroix, MB&F, MCT, Montblanc, Moritz Grossmann, Patek Philippe, Piaget, Rebellion, Ressence, Speake Marin, Tag Heuer, Tudor, Ulysse Nardin, Voutilainen, Zenith.

Special Projects: (Agenhor x Head/Haute Ecole d’Art et de Design – Genève): Agenhor is a movement supplier and this truly unique piece has been designed in collaboration with students at the Geneva University of Art and Design (HEAD).
Wostep (Ecole Horlogère – Neuchâtel) – timepiece from the WOSTEP watchmaking school in Switzerland is a collaboration of 16 WOSTEP alumni who have all have signed this unique time piece: Stephen Forsey, Bart Grönfeld, Tim Grönefeld, Marco Koskinen, Stewart Lesemann, Marko Makinen, Stephen McDonnell, John McGonigle, Maarten Pieters, Clas-Hendrik Pihl, Jouni Polanen, Mika Saikku, Stepan Sarpaneva, Peter Speake-Marin, Kari Voutilainen and Simo Ylitalo.

Photo credits: Loupiosity.com, Video: Only Watch.
All registered trademarks are property of their respective owners.
All rights reserved.